PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 9:51:33 PM)
(This user has entered Someplace) (IP = 174.253.113.122)
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 9:51:38 PM)
ta da
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 9:51:39 PM)
lol
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 9:52:27 PM)
its a kitty hehehe
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 9:52:44 PM)
meow
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 9:52:49 PM)
hehe... I'll even set up a scenario for you *pets*
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 9:53:14 PM)
okay
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 9:55:34 PM)
Scenario - *Deacon is an intruder on another gangrel's staked territory outside the city. He was caught hunting on their hunting grounds stalking out under the full light of the moon. The gangrels feline eyes gleaming as he stalked a beast instead of a human through the woods.* (let you choose the fight condition of if you want to go over the rules of an ambush or not heh)
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 9:57:35 PM)
and do you want to do flavor postings, throughout or just the raw and dirty system stuff
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 9:57:46 PM)
(nah no flavor)
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 9:58:30 PM)
(ok, now, you need to tell me, if you want to try the ambush, which requires some rolls, hehe, or just into the fight?)
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 10:01:22 PM)
......
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:01:58 PM)
(im gonna try ambush)
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 10:02:54 PM)
(ok hehe... you will roll dex+stealth vs my percep+alertness.... if you beat me, you get a free attack with extra dice equal to your successes over mine
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:03:54 PM)
k
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:04:17 PM)
(i gots not stealth*cries*)
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 10:04:38 PM)
check your skype again
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:05:02 PM)
(yeah no stealth....diff 6 right?)
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 10:07:08 PM)
really... did you not read my messages /after/ the original stats ;p
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:07:10 PM)
oh doh...i see it now...nvm)
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 10:07:24 PM)
diff 6 yes
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:07:55 PM)
10/04/11 02:07:45 rolls 6 dice vs. diff of 6 to ambush stl+dex: 10, 6, 6, 2, 5, 10 : 4 successes
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 10:08:27 PM)
10/04/11 02:08:15 Deacon McCarthy rolls 6 dice vs. diff of 6 to Percep/Alert: 7, 5, 7, 3, 5, 1 : 1 successes
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 10:09:05 PM)
your ambush is successful, and that also means you can have claws out for the attack, since you got to sneak up on me, hehe... so roll your attack +3 dice
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:09:20 PM)
(woohoo go me)
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:09:56 PM)
(okay now see this is what gets me....how do you know what to roll? and what about splitting dice pools?)
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 10:11:22 PM)
the ambush is a single attack, not a full round action... off my memories... but you could also use celerity... and while using cel, you cant split dice pools
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:11:59 PM)
no i dont want to use celery i need basics first..
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 10:12:18 PM)
alright, first round attack... using your claws for the attack?
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 10:12:48 PM)
as for attacks... all will be dex+ability
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:12:53 PM)
okay so roll my attack...dex +brawl right?
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 10:13:05 PM)
dex+brawl+3 for the ambush
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:14:05 PM)
why +3?
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 10:14:41 PM)
your extra successes on the ambush... you had 4 successes, one cancelled by my single perception success.... ambush adds to your attack
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:16:14 PM)
ohh okay
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:17:23 PM)
so instead of 6 it would be 9 right?
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:17:26 PM)
dif at 6
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 10:17:44 PM)
yes
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:17:58 PM)
k
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 10:18:06 PM)
unless you target specific areas it will be diff 6
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:18:20 PM)
got ya
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:18:25 PM)
10/04/11 02:18:06 rolls 9 dice vs. diff of 6 to attack…dex+brawl +3: 5, 1, 9, 10, 6, 6, 9, 6, 2 : 5 successes
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 10:18:29 PM)
head/arm/leg be +2 diff ... eye/heart+3
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 10:19:02 PM)
alright, now, you will roll damage strength+1+successes after the first on the attack roll
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 10:19:17 PM)
so 4+1+4
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:21:07 PM)
okay basic diff 6 add 2 to that if your going for arm,head,leg and if eyes or heart you add 3 right?
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 10:22:38 PM)
correct
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:22:49 PM)
got ya
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:23:30 PM)
+the suxxs I just rolled?
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:23:38 PM)
for damage sorry
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 10:24:15 PM)
+ successes after the first
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 10:24:45 PM)
so you take your number of successes and subtract 1, add that number to the damage
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:25:43 PM)
*scratches head*
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:26:23 PM)
okay so i got 5suxxs
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:26:27 PM)
-1 from that
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 10:26:28 PM)
alright, you rolled 5 successes to hit me.... you need a mandatory 1 to hit... every success after that 1, goes to extra damage
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:27:55 PM)
im so lost...im sorry
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 10:28:26 PM)
its ok hun
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 10:29:08 PM)
take a deep breath and relax, hehe, theres no rush, no pressure here, nobody loses or wins
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:30:30 PM)
i know i just feel well stupid
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 10:30:35 PM)
don't
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:30:50 PM)
okay you had me up until the damage part
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 10:31:02 PM)
what is it thats confusing you hun
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:31:11 PM)
i got the mandatory 1 to hit...thats a duh
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:31:30 PM)
every success after that 1 goes to extra damange..thats where im lost
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 10:31:32 PM)
yup... and every success after that, goes to extra damage for accuracy
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:31:50 PM)
let me roll damage
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:31:51 PM)
hold on
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 10:32:44 PM)
1 success equates to aiming for like the body, and grazing the side.... 5 successes, is aiming for the back on an ambush and slamming your claws into the spine
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:33:14 PM)
okay got ya im reading at the sametime why im so slow
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:33:55 PM)
okay so damage is strength +1 correct?
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 10:34:17 PM)
yes
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 10:34:31 PM)
thats your base damage
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:35:47 PM)
then add the 5suxxs to that right
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 10:35:50 PM)
4
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:35:58 PM)
oh yeah -1
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 10:36:02 PM)
correct
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:36:04 PM)
(This user has left DigiChat) (IP = 174.253.113.122)
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:36:53 PM)
(This user has entered Someplace) (IP = 174.253.113.122)
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:37:00 PM)
grrrr
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:37:10 PM)
i got disconnected
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 10:37:50 PM)
wb
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:37:59 PM)
okay now then...where were we
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 10:38:20 PM)
rolling your damage
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:38:34 PM)
okay
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:39:20 PM)
10/04/11 02:39:07 rolls 9 dice vs. diff of 6 to strentgh +1+4: 4, 10, 7, 1, 8, 6, 8, 9, 7 : 6 successes
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:39:23 PM)
did i do that right?
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 10:39:38 PM)
yes
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:39:41 PM)
woohoo
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:39:41 PM)
lol
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:39:59 PM)
brb gotta pee
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 10:40:12 PM)
10/04/11 02:39:53 Deacon McCarthy rolls 2 dice vs. diff of 6 to Soak: 9, 5 : 1 successes ... I soaked 1 aggrivated damage
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:41:34 PM)
(This user has left DigiChat) (IP = 174.253.113.122)
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 10:41:57 PM)
so you did 5 aggrivated..... annnnnd, that beats my stamina, so that stuns me, so you get a full round to do anything you want now to me, multiple actions, etc
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:41:58 PM)
(This user has entered Someplace) (IP = 174.253.113.122)
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:42:04 PM)
omg and i went poof again
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:42:06 PM)
geeze
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 10:42:08 PM)
wb
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:42:15 PM)
two more weeks!!!!!!!
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:42:52 PM)
can you repost pls
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 10:47:29 PM)
so, you did 5 agg after my soak, since that exceeds my stamina, it stuns me, and you get a full round to whoop on me
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 10:47:39 PM)
split actions and all if you want hehe
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:49:44 PM)
what did you roll to soak?
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 10:51:38 PM)
10/04/11 02:39:53 Deacon McCarthy rolls 2 dice vs. diff of 6 to Soak: 9, 5 : 1 successes
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:51:53 PM)
okay but what did you roll to soak?
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 10:52:21 PM)
fortitude and fortitude only since its agg damage, and i didnt have armor on
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:52:56 PM)
ah okay
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:53:39 PM)
okay so i roll damage again right?
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:54:24 PM)
strenth+1+3 right?
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 10:55:12 PM)
no
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 10:55:43 PM)
new actions, i took 5 damage, you get to declare a new set of actions
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:59:03 PM)
so i can attack again ,correct?
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:59:36 PM)
Im wanna rip hiim up big dummy hunting on my land...
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:59:37 PM)
lol
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 10:59:46 PM)
Mess with my food will ya
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 11:00:48 PM)
yes you get to attack again, gotta do the declaration phase though first, hehe if you want to split gotta declare
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 11:02:15 PM)
i want to split so i know how to do that....splitting...now then do i need to say what im doing with one action then the other?.
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 11:05:05 PM)
yes, you need to do that, and you can split up to the maximum of your wits
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 11:05:47 PM)
oh okay cool
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 11:05:53 PM)
im taking notes too..lol
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 11:06:25 PM)
and the way a split works, before you decide on that... is you decide the number of actions you are going to take.. and subtract that from your dicepool for the first roll, and then each roll after that gets one less die
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 11:07:00 PM)
so, your brawl pool, is 6, you split for 3 actions... first roll is 3 dice, second roll is 2 dice, and the third is 1
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 11:07:36 PM)
oh okay..that makes sense
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 11:08:53 PM)
oh okay i was thinking something else..dur me
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 11:09:46 PM)
okay so first action claw at his back....now do i declare 2nd action or do i wait
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 11:09:51 PM)
until the first is done
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 11:11:47 PM)
declare them all right now
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 11:11:52 PM)
oh okay
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 11:12:55 PM)
celerity actions are the only ones that can be held to be declared later... though that, can depend on the ST... some make you declare those at the same time too
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 11:13:57 PM)
okay well im only splitting it into 2 actions the first claw at his back...the 2nd (no idea)
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 11:14:07 PM)
oh okay
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 11:18:45 PM)
okay so do i add anything else to her dex+brawl
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 11:18:52 PM)
you gotta declare an actual action for the second... either another claw, or move action
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 11:19:12 PM)
also in the declare phase you declare any blood and wp uses
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 11:19:27 PM)
or woudl it just be 3?...got ya
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 11:19:42 PM)
no blood or wp im not at that phase yet..heh
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 11:19:50 PM)
just be 3 dice then
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 11:19:52 PM)
okay so 2nd action claw again...
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 11:19:54 PM)
erm, no
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 11:19:57 PM)
mr
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 11:19:59 PM)
mer
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 11:20:00 PM)
your taking 2 actions
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 11:20:34 PM)
yeah dice pool is 6 splitting that into 2 wojuld be 3
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 11:20:36 PM)
subtract the number of actions from the original dice pool... 6 dice, minus 2 actions equals 4
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 11:23:24 PM)
*head desk*
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 11:24:11 PM)
where did the minus 2 come in at?
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 11:24:17 PM)
okay i REALLY suck at combat
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 11:27:51 PM)
alright hun
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 11:28:26 PM)
when splitting actions, you subtract the number of actions being taken from the first dice pool, and another dice for each action after
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 11:29:59 PM)
for example, you are splitting to take 2 actions, you take your original dice pool of 6 - 2 dice for the two actions being taken, to give you 4 dice for your first action
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 11:31:22 PM)
and this will work better, if you stop beating yourself up
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 11:31:55 PM)
i spent 8 years STing and honing my knowledge of these things
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 11:32:59 PM)
oh okay
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 11:33:26 PM)
i thought you split the dice up like 1st action u use 3 dice and the same for the 2nd action
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 11:33:29 PM)
when I first started STing, I was confused as shit
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 11:33:34 PM)
newp
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 11:33:43 PM)
not subtract -2 from the total dice pool
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 11:34:07 PM)
cause your taking two actions if you were taking 3 actions it would be -3 right?
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 11:35:17 PM)
correct
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 11:35:40 PM)
okay well at least i got soemthing
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 11:36:02 PM)
and for each subsequent action, the dice pool gets smaller and smaller
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 11:36:15 PM)
so i roll dex+brawl = 6 -2
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 11:36:22 PM)
so total of 4
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 11:36:24 PM)
yes
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 11:36:31 PM)
omg ! i got it..lol
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 11:36:34 PM)
okay let me roll
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 11:36:40 PM)
thats what you roll for your first action... and you did, be happy and proud
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 11:36:56 PM)
and the same number for the second action?
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 11:37:53 PM)
10/04/11 03:37:34 rolls 4 dice vs. diff of 6 to attack…dex+brawl-2: 3, 2, 1, 2 : Botch!
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 11:38:02 PM)
do that right?
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 11:38:24 PM)
that is correct
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 11:38:50 PM)
woohoo
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 11:38:59 PM)
okay now the 2nd i roll the same?
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 11:39:05 PM)
you botched though... which, has concequences in an attack, damage to self, or weapon, or trips you up and you lose your second action
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 11:39:13 PM)
the effects are up to the ST
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 11:39:41 PM)
got ya
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 11:39:50 PM)
so you screw up your scerwed..lol
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 11:40:29 PM)
basically, in this case... it just gives us a chance to go into the next round, and actually roll initiative and make it a two sided fight
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 11:40:45 PM)
okay
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 11:43:37 PM)
i think i got initiave..roll i di then add that to your wits+dex
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 11:44:45 PM)
yep... and im at -3 to all actions, since ive taken 5 damage
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 11:45:47 PM)
got ya
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 11:45:49 PM)
init 4 + 8 -3 = 9 is my initiative
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 11:47:43 PM)
int 3+6=9 right?
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 11:47:57 PM)
whats base?
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 11:48:06 PM)
9b6?
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 11:48:25 PM)
base is 6 dex 3, plus wits 3... and what was your roll?
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 11:49:31 PM)
i see a 1 and a 3 on there, hehe... and if its a tie, you go first by highest base, if thats tied, its by highest roll
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 11:52:32 PM)
Results
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
10/04/11 03:46:59 rolls initative: 3
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 11:53:42 PM)
kk
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 11:53:50 PM)
so, you were right 9
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 11:54:02 PM)
our bases are tied, so i win initiative
Deacon McCarthy (Oct 3, 2011 11:54:20 PM)
which means you declare your actions first, i declare second, and act first
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 11:54:43 PM)
if you win why do you go second?
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 11:55:11 PM)
oh okay nvm
PeachesCat (Oct 3, 2011 11:55:24 PM)
okay well...Im gonna try to claw at you again..